About Me: Vanessa

My name is Vanessa, currently a candidate for a Masters in Urban Studies from Simon Fraser University. I graduated from the University of Waterloo’s School of Planning and am a full member with the Planning Institute of British Columbia and the Canadian Institute of Planners. Outside of school, I work at Innovative Housing Consultants Inc., a private development firm that specializes in affordable housing.

A common question people like to ask is where are you from? I lived the first half of my life in Montreal and the second half of my life in different parts of the Greater Toronto Area (GTA). I am fairly certain that the differences I experienced living in Montreal and the GTA have led me to pursue a career in urban planning. My passion for social justice have led to my specializations in social housing and transit. Which leads me to my thesis.

My thesis is titled How do social housing locations impact transit use in family households in the cities of Vancouver and Burnaby?  The purpose of this question is to research the variation of public transit services specific to family social housing locations, and how this difference in services impacts public transit use among low-income families.

Welcome to our blog!

Leave a Reply

